[LIVE REPORT] The 1975 // Olympia, Paris (France)

On the 20th of June, The 1975, a British Rock band from Wilmslow held a gig in Paris for their “I Like It When You Sleep, for You Are So Beautiful yet So Unaware of It Tour”, named after their second album released in February 2016.

For an unbiased live report, I went to the show without even listening to any of their songs except one, “Girls”.

The venue wasn’t that much crowded despite its size when we arrived although, it’s not that hard for a british band to fill up the Olympia in Paris.

The opening act was a second band from United Kingdom as well, called the “Pale Waves“, sharing the same label as The 1975. They offered a chilly, yet rhythmed sound close to an old school and basic (in a good way) rock band.

Setlist:
The 1975
Love Me
UGH!
Heart out
A Change of Heart
An Encounter
Paris
You
I Like It When You Sleep For You Are So Beautiful, Yet So Unaware Of It.
Loving Someone
She’s American
Please Be Naked
Somebody Else
Fallingforyou
Robbers
Girls
Sex

ENCORE:
If I Believe You
Chocolate
The Sound

The live started and ended with an intro and an outro, both taking you to the band’s world. I’ve been told, before the beginning of the live, that the lights on stage were breathtaking and at first I was expecting something we usually see in “normal gigs”. However, once the live started, I realized that it wasn’t a joke after all. The tones were really fitting the album’s design and atmosphere, could it be sound wise, but also visually.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Each song had their own light design, fitting the different atmosphere everytime.
If I had to pick my favorites, I would go for the one depicted the ocean’s waves, and the one with the spinning crystals.

They bring a lot of efforts in making the show as pleasing to the eyes as it is to the ears (because, yes, seeing them on stage made me actually dig up more into their music).

If I had to pick the best song with the best light, I would go for the moment they played “Loving Someone”, as it holds a deep and important meaning for today’s society.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset— During “Loving Someone”

The crowd, filled by passionated fans made the evening special each time a song started. There wasn’t this overly screaming sound we can hear sometimes during live, but exclusively the whole room singing along with the band.

The band is very dynamic, and that’s not something you’d automatically expect when you listen to the albums. However they’re close to their fans and share music as it has to be shared, like a passion. This made the concert even more enjoyable, even for someone who had no idea about the songs coming everytime.

I didn’t feel bored one second, everything was mesmerizing and incredible.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Some more funky sounds were played, like “Love Me”, pushing a whole dancing wave in the crowd, no matter the ages and genders of people there.
The lights kept going according to the sounds, non-stop, changing over and over again.

If I had to pick the best scenery, I’d go for the city lights one — The pic below is slightly blurry, but I thought it depicted the sound and scenery perfectly. Artsy, yeah?

Either way, this was totally one of the best live I’ve been though and it made me completely lose myself in their music for the next weeks, and surely for their whole career (may it be as long as they wish it to be; they’re awesome).

I’d give it 10/10, since it’s imposible to go for a 11/10, right?
If you have the possibility to see them live, someday, even if you’ve never been listening to their music much, DO. IT. You won’t regret it.

Words and pictures by REN

Leave a Reply

